My father

Image Posted on Updated on

My father

My father
He has the best sense of humor that I’ve ever seen, especially for a man in the ICU.
I told him that when he gets out of the hospital he should start a second career as a stand-up.

He’s funny and proportionately honest. For example, the doctors scheduled a procedure that required them to put dad to sleep so that they could do another ultrasound of his heart. They would look for blood clots. If there were none they would shock his heart out of the irregular rhythm that it was currently in.

The procedure was scheduled for 4 p.m. and when the anesthesiologist and another doctor arrived at 3:58 p.m. dad looked at the clock and then at them and said, “Damn, y’all actually on time.”
I stood in the corner giggling.

“Are you ready Mr. Nash?” one of them asked.

“Let’s get this party started,” he said, looking at me, smiling.

Leave a Reply

